The Student Room Group
Go for whichever one you like most, those numbers don't mean anything if you have differing levels of interest. Someone with a 1st/2.1 in MechEng who has taken part in Formula student, etc, etc is a far more attractive candidate than someone on a 2.2 in EEE with no extracurriculars.

In addition, Electric cars and Renewable energy are both still largely mechanical engineering dominated. For AI, you won't really have gone into depth enough with a bog standard EEE degree to get a career out of it.

There's also really not that much difference in job prospects between the two, using the crude "graduate prospects" measurement from CUG, the top 20 for this have an average score of about 90 in EEE and 89 in MechEng.
Reply 2
as an electrical engineering student, i would tell you to go for EEE but i think you should just go for what you love doing
Reply 3
Original post by Helloworld_95
Go for whichever one you like most, those numbers don't mean anything if you have differing levels of interest. Someone with a 1st/2.1 in MechEng who has taken part in Formula student, etc, etc is a far more attractive candidate than someone on a 2.2 in EEE with no extracurriculars.

In addition, Electric cars and Renewable energy are both still largely mechanical engineering dominated. For AI, you won't really have gone into depth enough with a bog standard EEE degree to get a career out of it.

There's also really not that much difference in job prospects between the two, using the crude "graduate prospects" measurement from CUG, the top 20 for this have an average score of about 90 in EEE and 89 in MechEng.

Ah ok what type of work do you think there will be for the future? Will the degree ever be outdated and will be hard to find a job in like 25 years?
Reply 4
Original post by DavyDG
as an electrical engineering student, i would tell you to go for EEE but i think you should just go for what you love doing