Takeonme44
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,
I'm currently doing a degree in Healthcare Science (Radiation Physics) at Swansea university, obviously this degree is more suited towards those who would like to work in the medical sector, but I was just wondering as to whether or not if I really wanted to, I could pursue a pure physics masters after my BSc in Radiation Physics. I mean it is still a field within physics.
Thankyou,
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
The short answers is no, your degree isn't a Physics course - it's a bioscience course, with some physical science elements.

Looking through the course, I can see you don't cover multivariable/vector calculus, differential equations, matrices, or complex numbers on the maths side - this is minimal mathematical preparation for a physicist. On the physics side, you only really cover basic A-level/first year uni physics, with the exception of some additional material on nuclear/radiation physics. However, this is from a very "applied" perspective; you won't have covered any of the basic quantum mechanics to underpin the theory in your course. You're missing a great deal of background in quantum mechanics, electromagnetism, thermal/statistical physics, and condensed matter/solid state physics which anyone on a standard IoP accredited Physics course will have. In fact, you might not even cover enough basic mechanics/waves content even...You might have a suitable background for a very focused masters in Biophysics/Medical Physics or Medical Imaging, but for a typical Physics masters course you have realistically nowhere near enough background to even approach it, at present.