How to cover everything in history essay? Watch

theeetimdoherty
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
Hi all,

I'm new to A Level History, and my first 25 mark essay is due. But, I'm finding it extremely difficult to write about everything in the time provided. In my case, the statement to evaluate is "The Suez Crisis showed that Britain was no longer a world power" although our teacher has instructed us to write about 4 additional topics, which are: European integration, nuclear deterrent, superpower relations, and decolonisation.

Now, in the exam, the 25 mark question equates to roughly 46 minutes of writing, and in that time I can write about 800 words. Yet, as I type, I've already reached 600 words after covering just two of those topics. This is after I've done a lot of sentence shortening and removing unnecessary points and description the best I can.

How did you deal with this in A Level History? My exam board is AQA and as someone who got a 9 at GCSE History, I feel it is of no use to me whatsoever.

Thank you in advance!
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 8 months ago
(Original post by theeetimdoherty)
Hi all,

I'm new to A Level History, and my first 25 mark essay is due. But, I'm finding it extremely difficult to write about everything in the time provided. In my case, the statement to evaluate is "The Suez Crisis showed that Britain was no longer a world power" although our teacher has instructed us to write about 4 additional topics, which are: European integration, nuclear deterrent, superpower relations, and decolonisation.

Now, in the exam, the 25 mark question equates to roughly 46 minutes of writing, and in that time I can write about 800 words. Yet, as I type, I've already reached 600 words after covering just two of those topics. This is after I've done a lot of sentence shortening and removing unnecessary points and description the best I can.