Want_To_Achieve
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I sat my AS levels (Bio,chem and maths) in Summer 2017 and failed all of them. I then went on to study a BTEC in Applied Science in which I got D*D* in my first year.

I am in my second year now and have lost faith in the course being able to prepare me for university because teachers have been saying that the course content isn't sufficient for uni (I gathered that after noticing that the chemistry content is lacking and my maths teacher saying that the maths content is only going to be taught to AS). A lot of the content feels like GCSE again which is a bit disheartening, especially for me as I am wanting to study Pharmacy at uni and I need to have a solid foundation of chemistry.

I have knowledge of AS from my first year of the BTEC refreshing my mind a bit and, obviously my AS year. I was thinking that I was going to be learning AS and A2 but the course is a lot less than that.

I am wanting to sit my AS level exams again but I am not so sure because AS doesn't count towards any UCAS points any more (I think...). Or I could revise AS again and try to grasp A2 this year and sit my exams to possibly get even a C grade which would still be good IMO because I have attempted the A2 content and wouldn't feel like I have never came across the topics during first year of uni where these areas are covered again.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Compost
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
AS does give you UCAS points - each grade gets you 40% of the equivalent A level grade (so an A at AS is 20 points but an A at A level is 48 points). If you want to take A level Biology or Chemistry then you would have to take the practical endorsement for them (or get universities to say they don't mind if you don't). It is every hard and expensive to find a centre willing to let you take these. There is no practical endorsement for AS.
She_lann
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago