A-Level Revision advice? (Bio, Socio, Psyc)

Watch
BlueberryCompote
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago

I am currently studying Biology (OCR), Sociology (AQA) and Psychology (AQA) for A-Levels (Year 1) in sixth form.

If I'm completely honest with you all, I sort of flunked my GCSEs. It was down to mental health issues, stress and an arrangement of other personal issues but I currently have a much more positive approach to learning – which hopefully sticks around for once – and a greater thirst for learning.

My GSCE grades were predicted at grades 8-9s and I came out only achieving

7: Mathematics (EXCEL/GC), English Language (AQA)

6: Physics (AQA), Geography (AQA), Biology (AQA)

5: English Literature (AQA), Chemistry (AQA)

Which was a huge bummer because I was well aware that I had a much greater potential had my mood at the start of me taking GCSEs persistently stuck by me. Due to the downfall in grades my predicted grades are only A-Bs but I really do want to take that bigger leap and manage to achieve A*s in all my subjects and be proud of the results I come out with this time.

The issues are I really don’t really know where to get my sources from when it comes to revision. The Biology book I have is very repetitive and full of information I don’t necessarily need so is difficult to make notes on whereas I find the AQA sociology books to be a lot more concise and easy to make notes from.

My learning style is sort of difficult to grasp as it depends on what the subject is.

For Biology I prefer videos like those that CrashCourse share on YouTube which I find REALLY helps though I’m unsure if I’m getting all the information I require from watching these. – I’m more solitary with this.

For Sociology I prefer reading from the books and making notes or linguistic exercises like debates

And for Psychology I prefer kinaesthetic learning styles like recreating the studies and making notes from videos.