Music Education in Secondary Schools and the Cross Curricular Benefits Watch

Le5pau1
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am a current Masters student at Kingston University, and I will be writing my dissertation paper around the topics of the above title. This may be a long thread, but here me out.

The idea of this thesis is to revive music education in UK secondary academies, a subject which has been overlooked in recent years. I have chosen to specifically look at academies for my study since these types of schools are the most common in the UK and have the freedom to design their own curriculum. This has arisen some issues for music education since creative subjects are usually cut from the school in order to facilitate the 'more academic' ones. However, there are beneficial aspects to this which I will cover throughout. I will explain how music is relatable to other subjects, why music education is vital for providing a well-balanced education, and how secondary academies can implement a strong music program in their schools.

Music is used in many core curricular subjects, such as science for example. The way that music and sound is produced is a scientific process, and a conductors full score is a chart, a graph which indicated frequencies, intensities, volume changes, melody and harmony all at once. Short and long vibrations produce different pitches, and music explores neurological discoveries.

Music is also mathematical as it is rhythmically based on the subdivisions of time into fractions which must be done instantaneously. Polyrhythmic approaches explore this further, teaching the counting of beats in a bar for multiple sections. Writing songs is also mathematical since music works in bar numbers and working out how many bars would fit each section. Pythagoras is a notable philosopher in both music and maths.