Sofighigliani
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
Hey there. So I’m having some queries with the graph exercise in paper 5. Firstly, the mark schemes are really weird cause they dont tell you which result you are expected to get to so do they just mark the method used? Idk if any of you ever looked at a mark scheme cause idk if you study like that in the uk. Im from argentina and im studying on my own, thats why i need the mark schemes to check what i did. So just in case, heres a mark scheme: https://pastpapers.papacambridge.com..._s17_ms_51.pdf

Appart form that. I have a problem with the y intercept part. I dont know what approximate values I should be getting but sometimes i get really weird values and my method is just fine. Also, they normally tell you to get the y intercept by replacing in the equation which is what I normally do but in that mark scheme i pasted they tell you you can get it by reading it from the graph, dont they? At least thats what I thought they were saying. Id like to know when i can read the intercept directly from the graph so that if i have that situation in the real exam i dont need to use the equation.

Lastly, im a bit worried cause in the syllabus it says something about curved line of best fit but i always had to draw a straight line of best fit. Every time i have a curved line equation i have to convert it into a straight line (using ln for example). What do they mean with a curved line of best fit? Will i ever have to draw that? How would the line of worst fit work in a curved graph?
Eimmanuel
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 10 months ago
(Original post by Sofighigliani)