Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi guys,

Im in my second year and I'm contemplating on leaving Medicine. I really don't know where to begin. Before I started Medicine, I was dead set on it as a career and during the application process I began to doubt myself and I did speak to other professionals E.g pharms/optoms
But they didnt appeal to me. I did the work experience and sent a week shadowing doctors and I really enjoyed it. The doctors, on the other hand, said how they weren't enjoying it and wished they did something else.

I guess since I started uni, I didn't really settle in and found it difficult to adjust and make friends. That has improved since I started. Academically I've been doing well and its tough but I have passed comfortably.
I finding it really difficult to keep on top of the work this semester as the difficulty has increased.

A part of me is scared of actually being a doctor, the amount of responsibility and the amount of moving around and instability involved. I dont know if my MH has played a part in this and I havent been feeling too great. Has anyone else been in the same position and what advice would you give?

I really dont know whether its worth dropping out and doing a different general degree like biology or going into Law as I enjoyed it at A Level.

That's not to say I haven't enjoyed Medicine but I'm finding it really hard and there are days where I wish I took a gap yr out before uni to suss things out before rushing into a life long career
tommyvercetti
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hey there,