The Student Room Group

Former MBB Consultant / MBB campus recruiter - Ask me anything!

** THREAD CLOSED **

All,

It's that time of year again, where everyone is applying for full-time roles, internships and related entry points into one of the hardest graduate industries to get into: Management / strategy consulting.

I am a former MBB consultant (7 years) in their London office and latterly one of the leaders of campus recruiting at the same firm. I currently sit on the same firm’s talent assessment committee.

Ask me anything you want about the industry in general, reputation of different firms, application process, what we look for, university reputations, interviews, what life is like as a consultant, myths vs facts, etc. etc.

Please note that I also now review CV’s, please DM me for the further details.

Look forward to hearing from you!
Rob
(edited 3 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Hi Rob,

I didn't have much luck with FT roles this cycle, despite being a postgrad candidate at a target - I presume this was down to my work experience/internships.

I may have the opportunity to intern at a small strategy consultancy (particularly strong in other countries but new UK office) over summer. But I'm doubting whether this experience would get me through screening vs a F500 finance/FP&A internship. What sort of work experience would you say is most desired amongst MBB/t2, or most common for applicants who are invited for first rounds?
Thanks for doing this Rob.

I had a few questions that I hope you could try and answer:

1) What do consulting firms look for in a case interview? What is considered a β€œgreat” case performance?

2) What are the UK rankings of the different consulting firms – both boutique and the larger ones? (I see a lot of information online regarding US firms, but less so for the UK market)

3) How many people apply for your consulting firm every year? How many would get a first, second and third round interviews etc.?