Purdy7
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am thinking of taking the A level in English language, I received an 8 in the GCSE. Is there a big jump between the two? What may I expect from the A level?

Thanks.

PS I'm a mature student, that has done a level 3 in another subject just not specifically an A level.
Last edited by Purdy7; 1 year ago
Tolgarda
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I am a student in year 12 currently taking English language at A-level, and this is my answer to your query.

English language at A-level is very different from what it is at GCSE, not just in difficulty, but also in content. In fact, I personally believe the immense increase in difficulty is due to all the new content that supplants your previous English language knowledge from Key Stage 4. In A-level language, you look at the 'theory behind language': studying the history of the English language, how it has evolved, and how it has become more diverse with different people (e.g. idiolects) within different contexts (e.g. in occupation, gender, etc.). You also learn about a child's language acquisition, and also how they develop their literacy (this spans 0-11 years). Theorists in the field of linguistics that discuss these different aspects of language are also very significant here for both diversity and change of the language, and its acquisition during the first eleven years alive (e.g. David Crystal, Noam Chomsky, etc.). There is a profound emphasis on grammar in the English language (e.g. word classes, clause types, verb tenses and moods, etc.). You also look into the prescriptivist v. descriptivist debate and the different approaches to language people take. A-level English language delves into linguistics more than anything else, and would be more suited for those with plans to study linguistics further.