gradstar22
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi

So i graduated from law almost two years ago now. I have tried applying for secretary, admin and paralegal roles within firms but i have had no luck so far.

I have not completed my LPC as i wanted to get practical experience first. I am currently working in a hospital pharmacy which i enjoy but career prospects are not as great compared to a legal career. Also within pharmacy my degree is not much use in terms of progression, i would have to start from scratch.

Is the legal profession one of the hardest to get into compared to other professions as i know a couple of people in the same situation as me?

Do you know any other professions that might value a law degree?

Any useful tips and/or advice?
mariasanchez1234
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I am so sorry you haven’t been able to find something you really really like career wise and that gives you good job progression prospects.

Breaking into law is hard, even harder if you didn’t had relevant legal work experience before you graduated, and you didn’t graduate from a uni that is really high up in league tables. However, a law degree is a very good and respectable degree to have.

I don’t have a lot of knowledge about to what roles you could apply for but I know for a fact that you could apply to banks, a law degree is useful when working in compliance, due diligence, etc. I know that because am a Law graduate that is doing that type of work for a bank.

Best of luck!
RV3112
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by gradstar22)
Hi

So i graduated from law almost two years ago now. I have tried applying for secretary, admin and paralegal roles within firms but i have had no luck so far.