Should I delete an online friend who is beginning to drain me?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I've been chatting with someone on FB for about 2 months now.
Personally, I'm finding some of our discussions really difficult to handle. He has some mental health issues and often can get quite highly strung.

I'm quite afraid of saying things in case they are misinterpreted and he gets upset. He has also had episodes of being suicidal. I worry that if I stopped talking, that he would cause himself some serious harm. He also seems desperate to meet me for some reason, even though he lives in another part of the country. Finally, he also keeps pressuring me into sending him photos of myself. Surely friends aren't meant to make you feel uncomfortable?

I've had mentally unstable friends before and it was torturous dealing with them each day. I fear that this guy may be much the same. What should I do?
Remain or cut contact? I'm wanting to get rid of FB and find more real life friends TBH.
SoulfulTwist
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Cut contact if it drains you.
Anonymous #1
(Original post by SoulfulTwist)
Cut contact if it drains you.
Would you say that is the best thing based on my OP? He seems a bit clingy, but I worry that he may do something bad if I cut contact, having had episodes of poor mental health.
astroworld
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Introduce him to other people
SoulfulTwist
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Would you say that is the best thing based on my OP? He seems a bit clingy, but I worry that he may do something bad if I cut contact, having had episodes of poor mental health.
For you. Yes.
Leviathan1741
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago