Sch55
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I really want a career in business in the future and I have always been set on going to uni. However over the past few months now I’ve been thinking of doing an apprenticeship because I’m gaining experience, getting paid etc. Recently, people I know have been on about doing an art foundation year and going into an apprenticeship/work after that, so would doing a business foundation year and then getting an apprenticeship be more useful? I’ve studied business at gcse and I am currently studying it at a level so it won’t be a whole new course to me
Puddles the Monkey
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hey, I'm going to tag in National Careers Service as they are super helpful and might have some good advice about this :yay:
National Careers Service
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Sch55)
I really want a career in business in the future and I have always been set on going to uni. However over the past few months now I’ve been thinking of doing an apprenticeship because I’m gaining experience, getting paid etc. Recently, people I know have been on about doing an art foundation year and going into an apprenticeship/work after that, so would doing a business foundation year and then getting an apprenticeship be more useful? I’ve studied business at gcse and I am currently studying it at a level so it won’t be a whole new course to me
Hi there,

Hopefully I can help.

With apprenticeships now being available at levels 4, 5 and 6 - going from a foundation degree at uni to a degree level apprenticeship is certainly possible.

What you need to keep in mind is that level 6 apprenticeships are not as readily available as business degree courses and are highly competitive. Foundation degree is level 5, your only progression route via an apprenticeship which would qualify for funding would be the full degree at level 6.