Impact22
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 months ago
Hi everyone,

I'm a current undergraduate (not in nursing) who's seriously considering going into a nursing career when I'm finished uni in Summer 2019. I've got a reasonably decent level of exposure to the field which I'm now looking to increase as I decide whether this career is definitely the one for me.

One question I had was in terms of the different 'steams' of nursing - the ability to train as an adult, child or mental health nurse. One area I'm potentially keen to work in is essentially a cross-over between two of these areas - I'm really looking into working in pediatric mental health nursing or something along those lines.

My question is whether in order to do this (if I decided it's for me), would I be better off training in child or mental health nursing? And does training in one of these three areas allow for flexibility in terms of transitioning to another branch 'post-qualification' if we decide it's not right for us? I'm struggling to find a great deal of information online in terms of how restrictive these sub-sections of nursing are in terms of working outside of them.

Thanks for any help!!

Impact22
SmilingWombat
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 10 months ago
(Original post by Impact22)
Hi everyone,

I'm a current undergraduate (not in nursing) who's seriously considering going into a nursing career when I'm finished uni in Summer 2019. I've got a reasonably decent level of exposure to the field which I'm now looking to increase as I decide whether this career is definitely the one for me.

One question I had was in terms of the different 'steams' of nursing - the ability to train as an adult, child or mental health nurse. One area I'm potentially keen to work in is essentially a cross-over between two of these areas - I'm really looking into working in pediatric mental health nursing or something along those lines.