"Is it ever ok to charge family for Christmas lunch?" Thoughts? Watch

PhilanderingBum
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Just stumbled across this rather interesting article: https://www.bbc.com/news/business-46345677

As someone who hates sharing, is a natural tightwad and a bit of a grinch, I can wholeheartedly sympathise with anyone who wanted to charge family members for scoffing their grub and drinking their booze. Seriously, I find giving gifts to others physically painful
Having said that, if my grandparents demanded I pay them £17 for the privilege of eating food in their house, I'd tell them to go die in a hole.
Personally, as a student, I'm not going to shell out on train faires for the journey home only only to have to cough up more £££ so I can sit on my arse all day eating mince-pies and attempting to drink the boredom away. I'd rather stock up on fish and chips and stay in halls. But that's just me...

What do you think?
LeapingLucy
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I think it depends on how many people are attending - if one member of the family is hosting 30 people, it would be pretty unfair to expect them to cover the entire cost, as it'd probably be several hundred pounds.

Though I think it's nicer - where possible - if each guest brings a food contribution instead. I.e. one person does the sprouts, another makes the Christmas cake etc.
bumblebeehugger
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
almost never acceptable. if you're inviting someone over for dinner, you don't ask them to pay - YOU ASKED THEM TO COME
however, on the rare occasion they invite themselves, it's reasonable to get them to bring something with them, whether it be a dish, drinks, or money
londonmyst
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I'm with you 200% as regards the "go die in a hole" response to ancestor demands for payment.
Christmas is my favourite time of the year.