Matilda213
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I’m not happy with this mark. What did you get in your first essay? Any advice on how to get a better score will be appreciated (I’m studying an undergraduate education degree).
BlueEyedGirl_
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Matilda213)
I’m not happy with this mark. What did you get in your first essay? Any advice on how to get a better score will be appreciated (I’m studying an undergraduate education degree).
Don’t worry, not many people like their first mark - but please know that 58% is good for your first ever uni essay! I got 48% in my first ever essay and now in 3rd year and sit on a high 2.1 so you can definitely improve. Just really take the feedback you’ve been given on board and also don’t be afraid to seek out more. Tutors are there to help you so make sure you make use the most of them! But sometimes it can just be a case of needing to adapt to how to write a ‘uni style’ essay so just really understand the feedback and I’m sure you’ll be getting better results in no time
Last edited by BlueEyedGirl_; 2 years ago
Matilda213
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Thanks for you reply. How hard is it to gain 62% next time? I feel like I lost marks because I didn’t evaluate properly. The reason for this was that the assignment was about me as a learner. If i was given an essay to evaluate different theories then I would have analysed the theories, weighed their pros and cons, analysed theories that contradict an argument and vice versa.

As as for my tutor, I feel as though she doesn’t have the answers to the questions we ask her, and she replies saying, “you’ve been in the lectures not me.” She rushes the seminar and is always in a rush, and yes, we pay £9,250 a year for this. She just doesn’t have enough time for us. I was expecting more support. Do all universities work like this?
Last edited by Matilda213; 2 years ago
Other_Owl
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago