The NUS is predicted to go bankrupt in April - do you care? Watch

Poll: Do you care if the NUS goes bankrupt?
Yes (31)
27.43%
No (82)
72.57%
She-Ra
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Full article here: https://inews.co.uk/news/education/n...ing-overdraft/
Drewski
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Not even a little bit.
IWMTom
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
NUS is a joke - good riddance.
She-Ra
Rep:
?
(Original post by Drewski)
Not even a little bit.
Do you mind if I ask why?
Drewski
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by She-Ra)
Do you mind if I ask why?
1. I'm no longer a student.
2. When I was a student, the Union was nothing but a source of embarrassment, bluster, and painfully stupid people given power because of popularity contests - who then stopped things simply because they didn't like them, or didn't like the people doing them.
Last edited by Drewski; 1 year ago
Dez
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
To the majority of students, NUS has always been a discount card and nothing more. While the union does some other useful work which will undoubtedly face disruption if NUS folds, I don't see this having any major long-term impact. Unis themselves ought to be able to plug the gap, after all they're charging students enough to run the gig in the first place.
IWMTom
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Dez)
To the majority of students, NUS has always been a discount card and nothing more.
Not even that anymore since all the good deals left for stricter providers like Unidays; all the non-students on HUKD were signing up for NUS cards under dodgy course names!
StriderHort
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I was a member when younger, but lost the rag last year