Can I get money off rent for "broken" house?

Watch
mklip
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I live in a house with 4 other people. We have 2 showers, which one of them is constantly leaking and our Landlord came over 10 times already and tried to fix it but he still did not manage to fix the leaks, so for the past 3 months we paid for a 5 bed house with 2 bathrooms but only one working.

Is there a way to get money off rent because of the unfixed issue ?
We are renting the house as a group through an agency.
londonmyst
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Unlikely.
You could notify the local council so they can inspect and order the landlord/agents to get repairs done.
username4003948
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
No, unfortunately not. I used to work in a council housing department, so I know a little (though I'm no expert and laws have probably changed a little in the 2 years since I left that hellhole) about housing law. My job also involved working with the 'private sector housing team', who do things like pressuring landlords into dealing with disrepair issues and installing proper fire safety measures, if those are absent from their properties.

In short, no, you can't have your rent reduced. Your tenancy is a legally binding contract which you'll have signed, agreeing to pay the full amount of rent on the agreed date each month. That applies regardless, unless for some reason the landlord or agent went out of their way to write in an extra clause that you're entitled to a rent reduction in such circumstances. I'd bet my left arm that your tenancy contains no such clause.