Do I capitalise economics (Economics)?

Watch
Hamad_786
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Is it economics or Economics? I am getting a mixed response from people and it is really annoying as my personal statement is about economics/Economics. I list a few example sentences (not from my PS, just generic sentences I made up) and you decide whether they should be capitalised or not.
I love studying economics
I think economics is important in this society
I want to continue studying economics at uni
I believe economics is a great subject
I studied economics
Frazzle27
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
You don't capitalise science, maths or physics, so why capitalise economics? In my opinion it should be lower case and it makes sense for it to be lower case since it isn't a proper noun.
Doones
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Hamad_786)
I love studying economics
I think economics is important in this society
I want to continue studying economics at uni
I believe economics is a great subject
I studied BSc Economics at Bristol
FIFY.

The subject is economics, the course is Economics.

e.g. At university you study a course called BSc Economics (or BA...) to learn more about economics.
Last edited by Doones; 2 years ago
LeapingLucy
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
In a personal statement, you always capitalise the course. It’s the name of the course - hence in this instance it’s a proper noun, and thus has a capital letter, like the name of a person or a country would.

Your degree certificate will say BSc Economics, not BSc economics.

I applied for History and Politics, and I used the capitalised versions whenever I referred to the subjects in my PS.
LeapingLucy
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Frazzle27)
You don't capitalise science, maths or physics, so why capitalise economics? In my opinion it should be lower case and it makes sense for it to be lower case since it isn't a proper noun.