The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Open University

Hi,

I’m new to posting on this site.

I am thinking of studying with the OU. I wanted to know what type of communication the course involves? For example, telephone convos, online virtual classrooms, group discussions etc. I suffer from really bad social anxiety so I want to know exactly what to expect before I enrol.

Also, has anyone else studied with the OU? What was your experience like?
Hello,

My experience of the OU over the last three years is that you can get involved with other students directly as much or as little as you want. I am in my first year of level 2, so I can’t comment on the latter half of this or level 3, but that is definitely my experience so far.

You communicate with your tutor via email or telephone - the choice is up to you really. Some tutors will call at the start of a module to say hi and introduce themselves, others don’t. Depends on who you get.

As for interaction with other students. There are both online tutorials, where you ‘sit’ in an online ‘room’ and listen to a tutor present over a microphone whilst watching the slides. There are interactive elements to these but in my experience interacting is usually via typing. Some modules also offer face to face learning events to prepare for TMA’s or cover key topics. Both of these types of tutorials are optional.

Whether more interaction with students on my particular course is to come in future years I can’t comment. But this has been my experience so far.

Ben
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
I finished studying with the OU recently and studied with them for years. I used to have severe anxiety, I have moderate anxiety now.