I really don't understand how to reference :/

Watch
lucieol
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I'm in first year and in the middle of writing my second essay. The feedback for my first essay pretty much said I hadn't referenced stuff properly at all and even after reading all the handouts my uni has given us about referencing I still don't really get it. I know how to list them at the end but I don't know how to reference when I'm quoting something?
<..........>
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
A lot of students struggle with referencing, there are a lot of good resources out there to explain the process to you as well as some great little tools that even do it for you like citethisforme.com (although you need to be careful that their output accurately reflects your own institution's version of Harvard or whatever the system may be).

Do you have a specific question that maybe I can help you out with? Which aspect of it are you struggling with?
redmeercat
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I'm not 100% sure either, but I'm going to research the Harvard referencing method, as that it's apparently what most unis use. If you research that you should find enough resources
MinatoNamikaze
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
You should have a look at the harvard system of referencing. I am doing EPQ but the method we use for referencing is professional and exactly what is expecteed in Uni to avoid plagiarism and to give due credit to the authors.

So what you need to do-
1) Use footnotes to show where u got the source from. The format should be--- Author's name " Article name" (year written) [link to original document/article/paper]
2) In the end you have to include Bibliography. This includes what's written in the footer notes but you also have to include analysis on the source.

Ask questions like-
a) why this source?
b) how it contributes?
c) is it reliable?
d) is the source thoroughly peer reviewed?