Career in music Watch

Bella.tigerlily
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Okay bit of a long shot but...
Currently in y11 so although it’s still pretty early we’ve been encouraged to consider a levels an possible career routes. I play piano and clarinet but it hadn’t really occurred to me that there might be the possibility of ever actually making a living from it. I’ve been playing clarinet for 18 months and got grade 4 with distinction in the summer, and I’ve been playing piano for about 2 and a half years and recently got grade 5 with distinction. I also have passed g5 theory with 94 self taught and got a 9 in my music gcse mock. Since I was a bit of a late started I thought I’d always be stuck behind everyone, but so far my enthusiasm has built and it’s what I’m most passionate about. Issue is, no schools near me offer a music a Level. What should I do?... I know music won’t make me a millionaire or anything close, but would it be possible to earn a living at least?
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
SpangleMagnet
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Unfortunately, if you wanted to do a Music course at University level I'm pretty sure you'd need an A-Level in it, alongside at least a Grade 7/8 pass in your chosen instrument.

However, it's worth continuing with your Music Theory as I believe the Grade 8 certificate is roughly equivalent to an A-Level anyway (GCSE and Grade 5 are equivalent).

It is possible to earn a living. My cello teachers are both professional musicians (playing for bands, in pit orchestras, recording etc) but make the bulk of their earnings through teaching. They teach to both private students and as peripatetic teachers in schools; one of them recently acquired QTS and is now part-time Head of Music at a school.
MegMog1515
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago