The Student Room Group

Training contract after non-Russell Group university

Hi everyone,

Since it is this time of the year when wannabe lawyers send thousands of vac scheme and training contract applications, and since I am obviously on the verge of depression once again, I feel like I need to ask this question and hopefully get an honest answer - what are, in your opinion, my chances of getting a training contract?

I am an EU student, my A-levels equivalent grades are AAA and I have recently obtained a First Class degree from Brunel University London.
Now, if you are wondering how I ended up at this university, the answer is that I simply chose it because I liked it, it was performing quite well in the league tables a few years ago and I had no idea about Russell Group back then (luckily since then my research skills have improved).

I worked part-time alongside my degree, got a couple of awards for academic performance, completed a one year long internship before my final year, volunteered for one of the legal charities and at the moment I am working as paralegal in the City.

While last year my main focus was on obtaining a first, I managed to send four of TC applications, ultimately however ending up rejected on psychometric tests or video interviews.

This year I have prepared a serious plan for the battle however I cannot shake the feeling that what is holding me back is the fact that I graduated from non-RG university. I went to a few open days and while recruiters were reassuring me that it does not matter so much as long as my application is strong, it cannot be denied that the vast majority of trainees come from Oxbridge and RG universities.

Since I am not planning on staying a paralegal forever and chasing my dream in vain, maybe there is someone who could from their experience etc objectively assess whether it could be a better idea for me to start looking for a career in different industry?