Taran29
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm choosing my A levels soon and I can't decide between sociology or psychology. I don't really know the difference. Could anyone care to explain.

I'm choosing:
Business studies
Computer science
Psychology/sociology

I've read a few books that look into the minds of individuals and society like:
The power of habit
How to lie with statistics
Irresistible: Why you are addicted to technology and how to set yourself free

It's not much, I know but I do have an interest in this sort of thing and I watch a lot of productivity videos/articles that talk a lot about how our brains work and utilizing them to the best way. I guess this links into psychology?

I've heard psychology is hard and there is a lot off essay writing. I'm not good at essays and I don't enjoy them one bit. I know I'm kinda being fussy here but I don't want to do something that I will hate for 2 years (made that mistake with GCSE).
Alisha999
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hi,
I did Alevel Pschology so could give you thoughts on that based on my experience.
I got an A for Alevel, purely because Psychology really fascinated me. I'm afraid if you don't like essays/not good at them you should think of another subject. Because I'm no expert in Sociology as I've never studied it but im pretty sure that both Sociology and Psycholoy are content heavy and therefore are essay heavy too.
Psychology is about the brain and also about the way we interpret things, it all depends on what topics your school chooses. I did, gender,phobias,social influence,attachment,memory,schi zophrenia and forensic.
Forensic and schizophrenia were my least favourite topics (A2 topics) yet all the others especially memory, attachment and social influence I really enjoyed.