Can't find a job - start a business?

Watch this thread
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
i graduated 6 months ago and have been unemployed since. am getting pretty sick and tired of it all. i have been going to jobs where it is me vs 40,50,60 perhaps hundreds others and i just not gonna beat 39 people end of. i studied a+f and studied a few business modules. i am thinking about starting a business as an alternative. i have a pretty good idea and i would like to give it a shot. but feel like if i was to propose it to family it will be met with a great deal of resistance. i cant imagine anyone saying ok yeah give it ago. be like no u cant do that for xyz. also if it fails i might be in the position further on and be well ive been unemployed for 8,9 months now. i thought about going back to uni to take a computer science conversion course and try get into coding. but sometimes throwing more money at a problem isnt the way forward
doodle_333
Badges: 19
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
Well someone is beating 40 people. If that's not you you need to work out why. Are your applications bad, can you interview, do you have any experience etc.

What's your business idea and how do you propose to pay for it.
sabana
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
Try applying for administration roles, they ask for very little experience then use it as a stepping stone to accountancy. Also look at finance assistant/accounts assistant roles. Ask someone to review your CV and remember to taylor it to the role, if its the interview you're struggling with ask your uni careers service for advice and they can even do mock interviews with you.

Don't give up, you just need to keep persisting and you'll find something eventually.
Ambitious1999
Rep: