The Student Room Group

Optometry:Uwe or Plymouth?

~ closed ~
(edited 5 years ago)
Hello Tasneem!

Firstly, congratulations on your offers! As a student, I thought I'd answer some of your questions regarding Optometry at Plymouth. I'm afraid I don't know much about the course at UWE since it's in its first year and so, it wasn't an option open to me when I was in your position visiting open days etc.

Accommodation
Plymouth has a large and diverse student population and as such, there are a number of accommodation options available including halls on main campus and the student village for first year as well as many housing options for second and third years. As mentioned, the halls tend to be on main campus or in the student village which means there's a range of facilities on your doorstep. From knowing people who go to university in other cities, the rent in Plymouth is reasonable and there are different options for all budgets.

To see the halls options open to you, you can visit this page: https://www.plymouth.ac.uk/student-life/services/accommodation

You can also search for some accommodation agencies such as Cleverstudentlets & Student Life to see housing options.

Teaching
Personally, I think teaching is very good. All lectures and materials are available through our DLE and some lectures are recorded too. The lecturers are always willing to answer your questions and signpost you for additional support where needed.
I also feel that our practical sessions are well run and supported, which means that our learning is reinforced alongside lecture content.

To see student satisfaction, Unistats is a good tool: https://unistats.ac.uk/Subjects/Overview/10007801FT-4321/ReturnTo/Search

City life
Plymouth is a great city! During the summer months, it's great to take a revision break on Plymouth Hoe and walk down to the historic Barbican. Its proximity to the sea means there's loads of opportunities to get involved with water based sports and activities.