DreamingOverseas
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi!

I'm a final year college student working on creating an app for dyslexic users. If you would have a moment to respond to a few questions it would be super helpful so I can create the best app possible

Thanks so much!

Age/Gender

1. What are the main symptoms of your dyslexia and how does it present? (Trouble with reading, spelling, writing, grammar or other specific tasks?)

2. How does being dyslexic effect your everyday life and learning? Has your dyslexia ever impacted your studies or learning?

3. What age were you diagnosed with dyslexia and what kind of support (if any) were you offered?

4. Do you have any prior experience with using dyslexia assistive technology? If so, what type of technology?(coloured overlays for papers, highlighters, spell checkers, text readers, apps or add-ons that change font/page contrast and smartpens for example)

5. Which of the products you used did you find helpful and unhelpful and why?

6. Do you feel a need for better assistive technology to help with dyslexia?
claireestelle
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I'm 23 and female, I was diagnosed with dyslexia at 18 but also have dyspraxia which I was diagnosed with when I was 10, so any answers I can give you would be from having both conditions because it's difficult to say what symptom is from what if that makes any sense:P
1. My main issues are slow reading, processing, bad short term memory, general co-ordination issues and grammar and punctuation (there's many other things but i think i'd say those are the main ones).
2. I suppose everyday life wise it can affect (effect?) everything, I forget things I just did, where I put something a lot, takes me longer to do many things including reading.