The Student Room Group

Will re-sitting my GCSEs affect my chances of getting into a Russell Group Uni?

I'm currently 18, and the reason I did not achieve any GCSEs is because I struggled to study in year 11 because of poor mental health. So I am planning on studying 8 GCSEs, most of them I am studying privately. My goal was to take Maths, English Language, Biology in 2019, and then English Literature, History, Business, Chemistry and Physics (triple science) in 2020. However I've done some research on the admissions for universities as competitive as the ones I'm aiming for, and they state that some prefer that 'standard level qualifications' are taken in one sitting. I'm not sure if this means A Levels, or GCSEs as well, but I'm very worried, as I'd need to know whether or not I'd be able to afford to pay for all the exams at once, or if it would be okay to take them in different years. I'm hoping to study Business Management at uni, so it's nothing super competitive like medicine. However I would still like to make sure I have a good chance. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Original post by SSSavage