How much pay rise is appropriate for 1st year ? Watch

Attitude24
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hi,

I work as a SOC , Security Analyst but I'm not sure how this salary review works and how much is ok for a 1st year SOC Analyst salary hike is fine?. I'm not sure how much to ask because before I started with them I asked for 21k as base price but was offered 3k less and now I need to know how much is ok to ask for this role. Any advice??.

Thanks
RogerOxon
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by Attitude24)
I work as a SOC , Security Analyst but I'm not sure how this salary review works and how much is ok for a 1st year SOC Analyst salary hike is fine?. I'm not sure how much to ask because before I started with them I asked for 21k as base price but was offered 3k less and now I need to know how much is ok to ask for this role. Any advice??.
It's not possible for us to say - it will depend on your level of skill, location and how well your company pays. 18k is a very low starting salary IMO.

Why did you accept 3k less? Did they promise anything for you to accept it, e.g. good rise if you performed well, or a cash bonus?

It's not unusual for someone hired on a lower starting salary to get a healthy rise after a good first year, so hopefully, you will. Most companies don't ask employees how much of a raise they want - it will be decided by salary budgets and merit. Good luck.
Last edited by RogerOxon; 4 months ago
Attitude24
Rep:
?
(Original post by RogerOxon)
It's not possible for us to say - it will depend on your level of skill, location and how well your company pays. 18k is a very low starting salary IMO.

Why did you accept 3k less? Did they promise anything for you to accept it, e.g. good rise if you performed well, or a cash bonus?