How do I go about preparing a research proposal investigating the FTO gene? Watch

Chezmunt
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
This isn't a chemistry question but it was the closest option I could find relating to science. I am an undergraduate student in my final year. We have been given the following assignment:

You may choose a gene/disease/funding organisation of your choice for your research proposal. For example, you might wish to make an application to the Medical Research Council (MRC) to investigate the effects of C9ORF72 mutations in ALS.

This assignment tests the following learning outcomes:

Demonstrate a systematic understanding of biological processes and bioethical principles in relation to Medical Genetics and disease mechanisms.

2. Critically evaluate complex genetic concepts justifying links to multifactorial diseases .

3. Produce a coherent argument based on a critical analysis of complex scientific information that is appropriately sourced from the literature.

4. Select data and/or information to formulate new ideas/hypotheses within an established biological context.

Changemaker & Employability Skills

5. Plan, produce and communicate a research project utilising good time management and problem solving skills.

6. Convey complex information effectively using language that is appropriate to Medical Genetics.