Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello everyone,

I'm a first year medical student at a Scottish University (if you're also attending a Scottish med school, please state below ) and having finished semester one, I feel really lost with my study technique...

1) Understanding vs. Memorisation
I feel that some topics are rote memorisation rather than learning, but struggling to identify the topics where I just need to commit it to memory rather than understanding the material...now that I think about it, I don't think I ever 100% understood anything in high school especially when it came to the sciences and I believe I just memorised the information - med school is making me self-doubt constantly

2) Notes vs. Flashcards
All the advice that I've received from senior medics is that they understand their information from the lecture slides (I honestly cannot comprehend this fully as some of our lecture slides are bare and poor quality), and a few of them make flash cards from the slides. I'm worried that if I do this, I'm limiting the information as I try to fit it into one flashcard question and not seeing the bigger picture - but I guess they're taking advantage of the spacing effect?

Currently, the majority of my peers are making notes from the lecture slides- I have personally found this to be too time-consuming.

I understand that first year is all about finding the study method that works for you but I really want to know everyone's experience of coping with the vast amount of content.

Honestly speaking, this is inducing some heavy anxiety and stress (and dark circles) that I have never experienced before and I'm wanting some sincere and genuine advice, thanks in advance.
Hype en Ecosse
  • Study Helper
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago