I don't know what to do anymore

Watch
PeacockRage
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Prepare yourself, this'll be a long one. Will include TD;LR

I'm studying computer science, in my second year and just got back from a week Christmas break with the family and friends. 1st year I mostly did okay, with a 2:2, but I struggled a lot with time management and motivation, and for a few months I think I was depressed and constantly considered dropping out.

This year started well, lots of motivation and aspirations, but after just a month of attending lectures and workshops I fell behind, getting confused often and just couldn't understand the concepts being taught. I've handed in two assignment so far, both group projects, only have the first one graded at 42%, despite my contribution getting 65%, but that's group work for you.

I have become depressed again I think, and can spend hours attempting assignment work without actually doing anything, just staring at the screen and trying to figure it out. For Object-Orientated Programming Assignment worth 100%, I submitted nothing... So I'll have to redo it in summer, as long as I don't fail anything else this year.

I really don't know what to do, another assignment is due in databases, and as I'm reading all the lecture slides and assignment brief, I do not think I can do it.

I'm really hoping anyone out there has had this experience and can advise on what to do. Because dropping out seems like the best thing to do, but I fear for my career. My parents say that even having a degree in anything is enough to help get a job in any industry, even if it's not the one I studied for.

I also don't know what I can do for my depression, because I hate talking about it and if I ignore it, it usually goes away for a few months, but always returns, is that even depression (I know about seasonal affective disorder, but I felt like this last year during summer too.)