Sam.281
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi, I'm new here, and I'm a year 11 student studying the new 9-1 Sociology GCSE course. I have a few concerns with how the course is being taught, and I'd be very grateful if current/former GCSE sociology students could help me understanding this.

My main concerns are as follows:

- We seem to be covering the course slowly (it's almost January of year 11 and we still have parts of two units to finish. I'm not as worried about this as my next point since I can self-study at home with the revision guide.

- My teacher seems to be spending long amounts of time on very small sections of the syllabus, and in particular teaching us a lot of things we don't need to know. When I looked at some of the practice questions in the revision guide, there were some I just couldn't answer since we hadn't covered the topic, even though it was part of a unit we'd supposedly completed.

For example, my teacher tells us about at least 20 or so different key sociologists for each unit and tells us to learn them and what they did so we can use them in our exam. Specifically, in the Education unit, I made a flashcard set of about 27 sociologists (all the ones we talked about in lesson) because I assumed I'd need to know them.

However, when I looked in the revision guide for the unit, there were only around 6-7 sociologists/studies that were mentioned. I found this the same for each unit, with there only being a small proportion of the sociologists we were taught in lesson being mentioned in the revision guide.

At this point my suspicion grew and I looked at the specification for the subject (something I should have done a long time ago). Lo and behold, the only sociologists mentioned were the ones in the revision guide. This leads me to believe I don't need to know about these tens of excess sociologists our teacher has taught us, and that I wouldn't be credited in the exam for using them since they're outside the specification.