Chinski
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello everyone! I'm a grad student from Argentina looking to study translation (literary translation, specifically) in the UK. My top choices as of right now are:
- Birmingham University (MA in Literary Translation)
- East Anglia (same)
- Warwick (MA in Literary translation studies)
- Essex (MA in Translation and Literature)
- University of Edinburgh

Has anyone applied/studied at/been to any of these universities? I think these are the programs available for literary translation in particular. My working language pair is English <> Spanish, but I'm hoping to expand to French in the coming years as well. I intend to specialize in poetry translation.
Any and every piece of advice on the application process, lifestyle, the level of the program(s), getting an offer, general recommendations, etc. would be extremely helpful. As I am not from the UK, I've not been able to predict at all whether I'd have the chance of getting in.
Current grad school average is in between a 1:1 and a 1:2 (8,8/10 in Argentina).
I'm planning on applying between March and April for the 2019 cohort, is that too late?
Chinski
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello everyone! I'm a grad student from Argentina looking to study translation (literary translation, specifically) in the UK. My top choices as of right now are:
- East Anglia (same)

Has anyone applied/studied at/been to any of these universities? I think these are the programs available for literary translation in particular. My working language pair is English <> Spanish, but I'm hoping to expand to French in the coming years as well. I intend to specialize in poetry translation.
Any and every piece of advice on the application process, lifestyle, the level of the program(s), getting an offer, general recommendations, etc. would be extremely helpful. As I am not from the UK, I've not been able to predict at all whether I'd have the chance of getting in.