Turn on thread page Beta

In the U.S. the radical with implied index of 2 (i.e. the square root symbol) is usually taken to
    mean only the principal root, e.g. sqrt(1) is 1, not -1, and -1 could be written as -sqrt(1).

What is the convention most widely used in the UK? The context is usual maths for 16-18 years old in
    the UK. Is sqrt(1)=1 or both 1 and -1? This is not an invitation for explanations such as....there
    are two numbers whos square is 1. This is simply a question of the meaning of the notation "sqrt" in
    the UK. Thank you in advance for your reples.

--
    Darrell

Darrell,

It's been a long time but I think you are talking about 18 yr old study. At this point are we
    talking about complex numbers ? I am an engineer so know it as 'j' (sqrt(-1)), in maths terms 'i',
    that is the UK convention. sqrt(4)=2 in most other cases. I hope I am not oversimplifying. As an 18
    yr old math student studying maths negative roots were considered as -1 and not -sqrt(1) but, it was
    16 yrs ago. -sqrt(1) looks ambiguous to me ? Damn, I'm just rediscovering maths. In IT now.

Rich. "Darrell" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    [q1]> In the U.S. the radical with implied index of 2 (i.e. the square root symbol) is usually taken to[/q1]
    [q1]> mean only the principal root, e.g. sqrt(1) is[/q1]
    [q1]> not -1, and -1 could be written as -sqrt(1).[/q1]
    [q1]>[/q1]
    [q1]> What is the convention most widely used in the UK? The context is usual maths for 16-18 years old[/q1]
    [q1]> in the UK. Is sqrt(1)=1 or both 1 and -1? This is not an invitation for explanations such[/q1]
    [q1]> as....there are two numbers[/q1]
    whos
    [q1]> square is 1. This is simply a question of the meaning of the notation "sqrt" in the UK. Thank you[/q1]
    [q1]> in advance for your reples.[/q1]
    [q1]>[/q1]
    [q1]> --[/q1]
    [q1]> Darrell[/q1]