Emno
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello,
I am a Swedish student about to finish my undergraduate and am now looking to do my MSc in the UK. When entering my references should both academic references be from my university or could one be from my upper secondary school (equivalent to A-levels). The reason for that is that my university lecturers usually have 50+ students at the same time and we might only have the same lecturer for 1 or 2 modules so they don’t know the student very well like my upper secondary school teachers did.

Thank you in advance!
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Your academic references should be recent. Not someone from secondary school
PhoenixFortune
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Emno)
Hello,
I am a Swedish student about to finish my undergraduate and am now looking to do my MSc in the UK. When entering my references should both academic references be from my university or could one be from my upper secondary school (equivalent to A-levels). The reason for that is that my university lecturers usually have 50+ students at the same time and we might only have the same lecturer for 1 or 2 modules so they don’t know the student very well like my upper secondary school teachers did.

Thank you in advance!
Your references should be recent, and ideally reflect how you cope with university-level study, which means it would be sensible if both your references were from you current university.
Emno
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Okay, fair enough. Are the universities expecting a lot from these references? I don’t know how it is in UK but we only see the lecturers during the lecture and then at the final exam, they don’t usually even know our faces. The only thing they can say is how we performed on any hand-ins and at the final exams.
harrysbar
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago