Is it okay to study history at uni if you don't study it for a-level? Watch

jess_r_66
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey, I was just wondering if it's okay for me to consider studying history at university even though I don't take history at a-level?
I've loved history since I was young, so I studied it for GCSE but opted not to study it at a-level as I was concerned about losing my passion for it. Instead I took Politics, Sociology and Psychology, which are all essay/source questions based subjects, although I do think that a History degree course would open up more career opportunities than these subjects at degree level. I definitely enjoy these a-levels so I'm wondering if they're a good base to start from if I was to apply for a History course at uni.
If any history graduates/students could offer their opinions then that would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks again x
Geek5
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
The best unis probably won't take you. The lower ranked universities might consider you, but you have no facilitating subjects at A Level so your prospects aren't great in that respect. You could consider doing a foundation year? The jump from GCSE history to A Level is big, and the jump from GCSE to degree level is even bigger. I can't see how you'd be prepared to cope with the academic demands of a History degree.
Geek5
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
On a more helpful note, Plymouth University will consider you for their BA in History as you do Politics. You might have more luck overall if you apply for joint honours History and Politics degrees though.
jess_r_66
Rep:
?
(Original post by Geek5)