The Student Room Group

Foundation a year after an access course?

I'm currently studying on an access course in Biomedical Sciences and even have offers to study Biochemistry at excellent universities including my first choice. On paper I'm doing really well so far and feel I could quite possibly secure 45 distinctions.

The problem is, I don't feel prepared for a sciences degree at a top university. I usually only begin to understand a topic when it comes to completing assignments and have compared against A-level content, looked at first year university past papers, and realised that whilst I have learnt a huge amount since September, I still just don't know enough. I realise having doubts and impostor syndrome is common, particularly for mature students, but I think this is more than that. I'm terrified of getting to university and not being able to cope - or worse, scraping by and never excelling to the extent that I'll be able to pursue a scientific career.

Anyhow, I'm considering contacting the university and asking if I could start on the foundation year for Biochemistry instead. I realise this might sound a little pointless given that it's supposedly the same level, and may well be very similar, but I really want to establish firm building blocks before moving on to degree level.

Could this be a good idea? Has anyone else done this and found it useful? Or rather, has anyone else felt this way before starting university in a hard sciences subject, yet managed to excel anyway? I'd really appreciate hearing from sciences students at university who came through an access course.
Wouldn't bother. Foundation is just another Access course.

You can catch up in a year, which is what you think you'd be doing on a foundation year (except you'd not be catching up as you'd be completing the same old basic stuff). A year is even more important for a mature student.
Reply 2