Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

I'm a mature student and have been out of education for a while - due to bad health. Healthwise I am doing a lot better and have started to get things back on track, with my education/career.

Anyway!! I'm looking to get into teaching, as this is something I have always wanted to do. I've been studying online, doing an access course - as I never took A-Levels etc.

Studywise, I am on track.

However, I understand to apply for Uni 2019 - I will need to get my application in by the 15th... Which doesn't seem doable due to not being able to get a decent reference?

When I say not being able to get a decent one, I mean that the only places I have worked (at the moment) is in a call centre. The last time I was in education or worked with children was ages ago. I even called up one school I worked out, but no one I knew works there anymore and I wasn't able to get in contact with them.

However, I am about to start working in a school - on a voluntary basis. I'm hoping they will be able to provide a reference for me, however, I still won't meet this deadline.

So basically, I'm wondering what are my options. I guess I will be looking at having to go through clearing if I want to even consider attempting to get in for 2019? If so, do I have to apply now still and then update my details? Or can I wait a little while and apply before the June (I think) clearing deadline.

I really want to try and get in for 2019, but I feel it might not be doable now.

Any help and advice is much appreciated!!
    • Section Leader
    • Answer Heroes
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Answer Heroes
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by AlanJo)
    Hi guys,

I'm a mature student and have been out of education for a while - due to bad health. Healthwise I am doing a lot better and have started to get things back on track, with my education/career.