Should I stop applying to top grad jobs if I done have a first? Watch

bobking
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I finished my degree in September 2017 - after getting rejected left, right and centre for my chosen career for the first nine months,I've been job-hopping throughout the country to build up 'experience' - usually in jobs that didnt require a degree. I now have a decent work experience, but only feel like I'm on par with a fresh graduate. I am still applying to jobs/internships - mainly in consultancies, think tanks, research institutes and political offices (I did a degree in politics - both MA and BA). But I graduated with a 2.1 and Merit on both occasions - I do have firsts in my transcripts but usually that one 2.2 module let me down. I know these roles are competitive but nearly everyone I've googled/seen on linkedin have 1st degree grades and I feel outclassed in this regard. While initially I was worried about my experience, I feel my academic results let me down. Usually 2.1 is a good grade - and I'm sure is enough for the vast majority of grad schemes and jobs, but am I setting the bar too high for myself?
jelly1000
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by bobking)