Too late for training contract? Should I give up and consider this a sign? Watch

lowkeylawyer
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
So I finished the self-funded LPC a year ago with a 69%. Went to a Russel Group uni with a 2:1 and graduated in 2016. I have been applying for training contracts for nearly 4 years now. I have work experience in some top firms (including a MC) in about 3 countries as I grew up around a couple of different places. Heaps of leadership/society experience at uni as well. I am working in tech right now (not in the UK) as that was an interest of mine as well, whilst making legal applications on the side. I however seem to have NO luck at all. I have possibly made nearly 50 applications so far in these four years, with only 2 interviews. I have constantly been in touch with my uni careers service, Aspiring Solicitors, SEO etc to have them look over my applications - and none of them can find any issue with it. Same with my peers that have TC's. I only keep getting silly advice like "use this word instead of that word to convey your message better".

At this point I have tried various different strategies - I have applied to the big firms as they have more training contracts and can possibly sponsor my visa. (I am an international student). I have also applied to more niche firms within the tech area, and still no luck - not even interviews. I am honestly quite frustrated at this point - simply because I have done everything in my power (grades, work experience, extra curriculars, some big names on CV etc) and I am getting absolutely no where. Is this normal? Should I keep trying to apply, or am I just knocking on a closed door? Any advice is welcome please!
Blann
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I will be frank. The door you’re trying to open is all but shut to you.