Career options following BPS conversion course? Watch

auburnstar
  • Community Assistant
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi guys

I've been studying a BA in music at Durham for two years now. I am enjoying it and like my course etc. I hope to graduate in 2020 and I'm on track for a 2:1, potentially a high 2:1 (66-68%) depending on the various module outcomes.

I originally went into music because I didn't really know what I wanted to do, so I just picked what I enjoyed doing. However, the more I think about it, the more I want to do something that actually makes a difference and helps people.

My experiences in the last few years, maturing and experiencing various things, have made me realise it's important for me to feel like what I do matters and has a positive impact. The internships and placements for music BA are either media (very competitive, low-paid, not very rewarding, hardly any where I live) or finance/marketing (better paid but would feel a bit meaningless to me). I wouldn't want to be a performing musician (too stressful) or music teacher (low job security). Whilst I wouldn't "hate" doing a musicology masters, I don't want to go into higher education so it would feel like a bit of a waste of time/money.*

I'm currently doing some music and psychology modules, and I've found it to be really fascinating to the point where I'm starting to read about psychology in my spare time. Even statistics and research methods, although it's new to me, appeals to me.

My plan currently is that sometime before I graduate (probably Autumn of this year), I'll apply for BPS-accredited conversion courses and do that, and hopefully, from there apply for assistant/trainee roles. If I wanted to go into psychiatry instead in the future, I figured I could also do a GEM or a regular med course as I would have the money to do that by that point (plus experience)?