Pharmacy or chemistry degree Watch

Ionstark
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi there, I’m not really sure what course I want to study, I currently have offers for both of these and I still can’t decide on which I prefer. Which course is better in terms of employment, pay and security? I know with pharmacy you can work in community (not really keen on this), hospital and industry but I’ve been hearing bad things about the future of pharmacy and how it’s not like how it was before. Is this true and can pharmacists or someone with knowledge on this give their input. Again can anyone in this field provide an input into what’s it’s like.
Last edited by Ionstark; 4 weeks ago
Mr Optimist
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Forget pharmacy. I am a pharmacist and we have already discussed many times in this forum why people should avoid pharmacy like the plague at the moment. Chemistry is good, but my advise to you is, if you're interested in chemistry and want good job prospects, look into chemical engineering. Frankly, if I had to do a degree outside of healthcare field, it would be chemical engineering.
Fatima679
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
All the pharmacists I know are unhappy. Just do what you love, chemistry is tough but if you’re up to it then go ahead. At the end of the day, you’re not likely to use your degree much anyway. Most job skills are taught on the job rather than at university.
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
Ionstark
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Does chemistry has poor job prospects, I’m not really interested in engineering as I don’t enjoy physics.

With the Mpharm can I enter careers that are outside of the pharmacist job role.
Mr Optimist
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Ionstark)
Does chemistry has poor job prospects, I’m not really interested in engineering as I don’t enjoy physics.