do ranking and fame of a uni matter? Watch

jasxjasmine
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I’m an international student and I’ve applied for occupational therapy courses. Before applying to the five unis I’ve done some research and found out that most of the russell group unis do not open courses related to health care. I was disappointed cos I only had a few high-ranked and relatively well-known unis to choose from. In my home country, employers look into unis’ fame and reputation when they assess the candidates. Some even say that if you’re planning to study abroad in uk, make sure that you pick uni from russell group for a better career prospect. So i had even thought about giving up on ot, and applied for language/social science courses instead, so that i’d have a chance to get into a university from russell group. ( at last i decided to stick with ot as i want to help people in need in the future ) So, i’m wondering what do people in uk think, do ranking, fame and reputation of a university matter? I also want to know about uea and essex’s reputations in uk, thank you!

p.s. english is not my first language, sorry if i’ve made any grammatical mistake or wrong choice of words!
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
quirky editor
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Russel group is mainly a research group, it doesn't mean their course or teaching will be better. As long as your course is course is accredited by the apporpriate body it makes little difference.
Vinny C
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
At first... yes. Then you must prove yourself in the world unless you go into politics. I am good on grammar if you need any help.
FloralHybrid
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago