How likely am I to get into Queen Mary University of London?

Watch
zainabaazadeh
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi, I'm an international student and have given my GCSES/IGCSES and am currently in A2, preparing for my final A'LEVELS. I have applied to Queen Mary for World history with a year abroad. My O'level/GCSE grades were A*A*AABBBC and IGCSES were AA. My A'LEVEL predicted grades are: A*AB. I don't have very strong extracurriculars but have mentioned in my PS that I have been published in National newspapers for writing articles on minority rights and feminism. Can I receive an offer?
Sinnoh
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
British universities don't really care that much about extra-curriculars or GCSEs (with some exceptions). You've got good predicted grades and you're not applying to an especially competitive course. Very likely you'll get in. Offer rates tend to be around 80%.
MrMmstr
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by zainabaazadeh)
Hi, I'm an international student and have given my GCSES/IGCSES and am currently in A2, preparing for my final A'LEVELS. I have applied to Queen Mary for World history with a year abroad. My O'level/GCSE grades were A*A*AABBBC and IGCSES were AA. My A'LEVEL predicted grades are: A*AB. I don't have very strong extracurriculars but have mentioned in my PS that I have been published in National newspapers for writing articles on minority rights and feminism. Can I receive an offer?
Highly likely. Your GCSEs are very good and I am guessing your A level predicteds are a grade above the requirements??? Extra curricular activities are irrelevant to be honest, all they care about is that you have an interest in the subject. Many people will tell you that you have to play an instrument or dance or some other crap, but that is archaic.