Luizkana
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hello everyone, I'm an undergraduate student in the US and I will have my Biology BA degree (with a Chemistry minor) finished up in December 2019 with my current overall GPA being 3.83. I am supposed to start the application process for US medical schools this spring for the 2020 cycle and I am planning on taking the MCAT exam in May, in case I don't get into any UK medical schools. However, I am originally from Poland and would prefer to be closer to home and family because I realized I will lead a happier life that way. I'm looking for any information, tips, or advice that you guys might have to help me apply to medical schools in the UK. I would like to stay in the UK following graduation so I'm not worried about not getting into residency in the US as an international student.

I have found out that in the UK, the study of medicine starts at the undergraduate level (https://occameducation.com/what-are-...us-and-the-uk/), but I will already have an undergraduate degree; will that help me anyhow?

I have dual US/Polish citizenship; can I use that to defer some fees etc since Poland is in the EU and EEA? Do I still need a UK study visa in that case? What else would I need? Should I apply for citizenship in the UK or something else if I am looking to stay there after graduation?

I also found a website (https://www.naric.org.uk/naric/) that is supposed to help recognize and compare international qualifications. I'm not sure if it is required to go through this process or not (pretty pricey too). Does anyone have any insight about this?

I realize I have a rather unusual situation being a citizen of an EU country but (almost) having finished undergraduate studies in the USA. I would really appreciate any information or advice. If you have any questions, please ask!

– Luiza
ltsmith
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago