Rest time between shifts? Watch

coffeeaddict09
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi all, I am currently a 1st year student nurse on a busy ward in my local trust. My shift patterns are similar to my mentors and entail working lates and earlies. Lots of my shifts appear to be a late (1.30-9.30pm) followed by an early the next day (7am-3pm) sometimes I’ve getting 3-4 hours sleep max and I’m exhausted. I understand that some nurses have to do these shift patterns however, prior to starting my training was always under the impression that by law you had to have a minimum of 11 hours rest period (gap) between shifts, which in my case isn’t happening and for other students and staff also. Am I totally wrong on this or should we not be doing these shifts?
Also, even though technically as students we are supernumerary this is not happening. Thanks in advance
Claire461
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
squeakysquirrel
squeakysquirrel
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by coffeeaddict09)
Hi all, I am currently a 1st year student nurse on a busy ward in my local trust. My shift patterns are similar to my mentors and entail working lates and earlies. Lots of my shifts appear to be a late (1.30-9.30pm) followed by an early the next day (7am-3pm) sometimes I’ve getting 3-4 hours sleep max and I’m exhausted. I understand that some nurses have to do these shift patterns however, prior to starting my training was always under the impression that by law you had to have a minimum of 11 hours rest period (gap) between shifts, which in my case isn’t happening and for other students and staff also. Am I totally wrong on this or should we not be doing these shifts?
Also, even though technically as students we are supernumerary this is not happening. Thanks in advance