The Student Room Group

Life after uni worries

Hey!

To keep it short... I am currently a year 2 student studying Education.

Prior to this course, I had achieved my qualification in level 3 child care. And I have 5 gcse’s C and above (including English and maths). On top of this, I have plenty of experience within a childcare setting as I’ve volunteered in settings over the course of 3 years. And currently am helping out at a school now one day a week around uni.

However, my plan after uni is to become a TA for a few years just to gain confidence and to have a break from education, then maybe to do a pgce later on in life. But I feel SO anxious that I am not going to get a job as a TA in case I finish uni with a 2.2. (Even tho, majority of TA positions do not even require a degree, so I’m already qualified by my level 3, but I feel that as if my degree grade will look bad on me.

Am I just over thinking the situation?
Reply 1
Yes, I step at a time, enjoy your degree studies and I'm sure all will be well.
Same position, I'm in my final year too and I think most people feel the same.

I've come up with a relatively sound plan - MSc Forensic Psych into QFP stage 2, but I don't know if things will actually go that way. I need to actually get applying for Masters after my exams are done with.

Just try coming up with a plan going forward so you're not completely aimless, which you seem to have done already. I think you'll be fine though, just enjoy the rest of your degree :h:

Good luck with everything!
(edited 5 years ago)
Original post by Abbdabb
Hey!

Prior to this course, I had achieved my qualification in level 3 child care. And I have 5 gcse’s C and above (including English and maths). On top of this, I have plenty of experience within a childcare setting as I’ve volunteered in settings over the course of 3 years. And currently am helping out at a school now one day a week around uni.