Ciffsome
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi there, I’m a student who finished high school using my own country’s curriculum, but I am now taking an additional year to write the Cambridge International A levels. I have just started and am trying to decide whether or not a 4th a Level will add any value to my application. I am taking Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science. Having to do both the AS and A2 exams is supposedly quite hectic so I might drop computer science and just take 3. I want to study Mathematics at Cambridge as my first choice. Any advice?
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Ciffsome)
Hi there, I’m a student who finished high school using my own country’s curriculum, but I am now taking an additional year to write the Cambridge International A levels. I have just started and am trying to decide whether or not a 4th a Level will add any value to my application. I am taking Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science. Having to do both the AS and A2 exams is supposedly quite hectic so I might drop computer science and just take 3. I want to study Mathematics at Cambridge as my first choice. Any advice?
They only require 3.
They can sometimes be more lenient if you have 4 or it comes to a tiebreak.

If your 4th is poor then it adds nothing. Go for 3 good ones.

Many of your competitors will be at the top of their game. Consider an EPQ and food experience.
Poisson
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
You probably already have high school qualifications from your own country and if they are very good I would suggest contacting the Cambridge Admission Office to see their equivalence in terms of A-levels and whether they'd be accepted.