Placement year vs Graduate Scheme Watch

Momo_27
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi Guys! I'm in my second year at the moment and wondering what are the pros and cons of doing a placement year and/or taking on a graduate scheme once graduated. I am confused as to which one to take on.
kkboyk
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Momo_27)
Hi Guys! I'm in my second year at the moment and wondering what are the pros and cons of doing a placement year and/or taking on a graduate scheme once graduated. I am confused as to which one to take on.
Both are completely different: a placement year is essentially an internship that lasts typically 12months, whereas a graduate scheme is a full time, professional structured training programme for graduates that lasts typically around 2-3yrs. It offers the opportunity to try out different roles within a department, or even outside your department and build the skills you need.

Graduate schemes are extremely competitive, since there are limited amount of space and a huge number of people applying per space. Doing a placement year increases your chance of landing a graduate scheme, as you'll have a year's worth of (relevant) experience, which you've spent gaining some transferrable skills.
Last edited by kkboyk; 4 weeks ago
Momo_27
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
(Original post by kkboyk)
Both are completely different: a placement year is essentially an internship that lasts typically 12months, whereas a graduate scheme is a full time, professional structured training programme for graduates that lasts typically around 2-3yrs. It offers the opportunity to try out different roles within a department, or even outside your department and build the skills you need.